The Lartigue Monorail and Museum offers visitors of all ages the opportunity to experience and learn about a truly unique form of rail travel. Designed by Frenchman Charles Lartigue, the original Lartigue Monorail ran for 12 kilometres between Listowel and Ballybunion, The only monorail system of its type in the world, it operated from 1886 to 1924, carrying passengers, livestock and sand balanced on either side of its central rail.
Full-size working replica of the Lartigue locomotive
You are invited to be part of history and experience a unique mode of transport at the Lartigue Monorail and Museum. Since 2003 a full-size replica of the Lartigue locomotive with two carriages runs on a kilometre of elevated rail near the original Listowel site. The line has two turntables, where the loco is turned manually, and several switches and loop sections.
The Monorail Museum
The journey begins and ends at the Monorail Museum, housed in the old main-line Goods Store. Here visitors can view film footage from the early 1900s of the original steam-powered Lartigue, as well as browsing models, displays and memorabilia of both the Lartigue and the main-line railways.
May 1 until September 31
Daily open from 1:00pm to 4:30pm
But excluding Races Week in September.